UO Portland Land Acknowledgement

The University of Oregon’s Portland campus was once heavily populated by Multnomah, Wasco, Cowlitz, Kathlamet, Clackamas, Chinook, Tualatin, Kalapuya, Molalla, and numerous indigenous peoples who made their homes along the Columbia River basin for millennia.

We respectfully acknowledge all Indigenous communities and the unimaginable colonial history they endured. We also acknowledge the systemic policies of genocide, relocation, and assimilation that still affect many Indigenous and Native American families today. As guests on these lands, we respect the work of indigenous leaders and families, and pledge to make ongoing efforts to recognize their knowledge, creativity, and resiliency.

The University of Oregon would like to thank and recognize the nine federally recognized tribes of Oregon; the Burns Paiute Tribe; the Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua, and Siuslaw Indians; the Coquille Indian Tribe; the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians; the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community; The Klamath Tribes; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians; The Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indians, and; the Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs, who continue to make contributions within the State of Oregon, nationally and across the globe.